Ballymena Belles 5

The Ballymena Belles 5-Mile Race is over for another year, and what a night it was, one that will live long in the memory.

From those finishing in a podium position, winning their category or picking up a prize to those completing in their first ever race or longest ever run after graduating from one of our Cosy Sofa programmes, it was an evening of success, celebration and achievement all round.

Congratulations to Natalie Hall from Acorns AC on her victory to claim the Jean Gould Memorial Trophy, just ahead of Albertville Harriers duo Sarah Jane Guiney and Tracey Atkinson.

First local runner home with a place in the top ten was Linda Pettigrew, while Brigid Quinn won her category. Indeed well done to all our runners, there were many impressive performances throughout.

The full list of Ballymena Runners competing reads:- Mairead Agnew, Tanya Agnew, Ruth Aiken, Jane Banks, Helen Beattie, Cathy Boyd, Joanne Brown Kerr, Iverene Carleton, Marion Connon, Juliet Coulter, Kelly Courtney, Donna Craig, Lorraine Craig, Mairead Davey, Pamela Davis, Catriona Donaghue, Louise Donnelly, Allison Douglas, Mary Duffin, Vicky Dunn, Karen Flanaghan, Elle Forest, Alison Foster, Wendy Graham, Chantelle Hamill, Donna Harkin, Clare Harvey, Aine Hasson, Nikki Hasson, Karen Hunter, Naomi Hutchinson, Cara Johnston, Pamela Kane, Gillian Kernohan, Kathryn Lorimer, Patricia MacRory, Teresa Mark, Yvonne McClenaghan, Geraldine McClintock, Iris McDowell, Mabel McFall, Clare McGall, Karen McGaughey, Grace McGonigle, Rosemary McIlroy, Emma McKay, Helen McKay, Maria McKeown, Moyra McKinley, Joanne McLaughlin, Debbie McPherson, Mavis Mills Wesley, Gemma Moore, Helena Moore, Wendy Moore, Rhonda Morris, Rosemary Morrow, Catherine O'Melvena, Vicky O'Hara, Linda Pettigrew, Brigid Quinn, Janine Redmond, Gillian Rennie, Sylvia Ringer, Victoria Ross, Elaine Scullion, Sinead Scullion, Grace Snoddy, Heather Steele, Helen Stevenson, Catherine Stewart, Tracyann Tully, Janice Wilkins, Sarah Woods, Judith Wray and Andrea Wylie.

In total 335 runners took to the starting line representing in excess of 25 clubs from around the country, a fantastic turnout for an event that continues to grow from strength to strength.

Race directors Emma Donnelly and Lynn Tennant were quick to pay tribute to everyone involved with making the event such a success.

"Thank you so much to everyone who came tonight. To the runners, the supporters, the marshals, the team in the kitchen, the team on registration, the team on course setup and those at the start and finish.

"We couldn't have done any of it without you! We had an amazing night and loved every minute of it!!!! Absolutely fantastic!"

The event this year supported the Cancer Fund for Children. A proportion of entry fee was donated to the cause, while we are extremely grateful to sponsors Exclusive Beauty Broughshane, Woodsides Pharmacy, Michelin, Cameron Steele Physio, NI Water, Flossies Treats, Eagle Restaurant, Pro-Form Nutrition and Lifestyle Fitness for their generous backing.

Here's to next year!

Memories from 2017. Picture gallery by Mark Kelly.


"Tutu good!"

Galgorm Community Centre BT42 1GQ


Results Archive